Drawing: Part II

So all this week I’ve been drawing in my spare time (which I hardly have any of nowadays). And besides the fact that I can’t draw in a straight line, I don’t understand proper shading techniques, and many other skills one needs to be able to draw well, the most difficult part for me is figuring out what to draw.

It’s weird because there are literally millions and millions of things I could draw. I have a blank piece of paper, creation is at my finger tips… there are no rules, limits, guidelines… yet I cannot think of a damn thing to draw.

I downloaded Seussical the other day. My summer at Audubon Arts re-inspired me to get back into musicals. I’ve been listening to this soundtrack non-stop for the past few days. It inspired me to draw like the illustrations Dr. Seuss does.

Oh, the places you’ll go!

Random Tree

I’m the type of person who is pretty honest when it comes to my feelings. If I don’t like something, I’ll tell you. If something is boring, I let you know. If there is something in your teeth, I’ll probably take it out for you. But whatever the case may be, I’m honest.

Since I had no idea what to draw, I decided to stop kidding myself and just draw whatever came to my head… which was this:

Not terrible. But I can do better.

It’s random, kinda bad, but sort of artistic! I think my mind was in the right place, now it’s just a matter of finishing the picture and seeing where else it goes.

I wish I was more creative.

I tried drawing a bunch of other things but my patience wears low very quickly. Eventually, I got fed up with it and traced a picture. Yes, that’s kind of cheating, but it came out really well!

Link from Zelda

That last one is my favorite, only because it looks the best. :)

2 comments

  1. Have you tried drawing from life yet, instead of just drawing from your imagination? It’s trickier to get it to look right, but at least you don’t have to worry about not feeling creative enough. And hell, if it doesn’t look perfect, you can just call it Impressionist!

Leave a Reply

